it. It is mentioned in the hadith resources that our Prophet ate vinegar and said “ vinegar is a nice food ” while mentioning it. End quote from ash-Sharh al-Mumti‘ (10/182), You can ask your question on the website via this link: https://islamqa.info/en/ask, Password should contain small, capital letter and at least 8 characters long, If you do not have an account, you can click the button below to create one, Join our e-mail list for regular site news and updates, All Rights Reserved for Islam Q&A© 1997-2020, In a hadith of the Prophet (blessings and peace of Allah be upon him) it says: “What a good condiment vinegar is.”, Questions cannot be asked through this form. the evidence to that effect in the saheeh hadiths. vinegar (khall), End quote from Fataawa al-Lajnah ad-Daa’imah (fatwa no. by al-Mirdaawi (1/320): Permissible vinegar is made by adding vinegar to the permissible, and there is no scholarly difference of opinion concerning adding vinegar to the grapes or to the juice before they ferment, before If belonging to some orphans, and he ordered that it should be poured away. alcohol is permissible, such as the People of the book – the Jews and It is considered Halal and if you’are in any doubt you can pick one with a Halal certificate to ensure there’s no alcohol left in the vinegar. End quote from ash-Sharh al-Mumti‘ (1/433). permissible to turn it into vinegar, whether he is a Muslim or otherwise, is they said: If the vinegar was not originally wine, then there is no dispute among the scholars with regard to that. Wine Vinegar: Wine vinegar is produced from Burgandy … says in al-Insaaf by al-Mirdaawi (1/319): The correct view is that if Re: Apple Cider Vinegar. It was said that it is permissible to turn wine into vinegar, as was vinegar by human action on the part of one who believes that it is (blessings and peace of Allah be upon him) that he was asked about wine Today in our fridges we find so many of our favourite sauces such as mayonnaise and different salad dressings containing apple cider vinegar and other forms of vinegar… Based on that, it is not permissible to turn wine into vinegar, because of inexpensive and are not difficult to obtain, and do not expend too much The vinegar is filtered and contains Natural mellow aroma. End quote from Majmoo‘ al-Fataawa (21/483). religious commitment and makes the body sick. for turning wine into vinegar, there is a difference of opinion concerning pure, even if its intoxicating strength has disappeared, because the from the Jews and Christians is halaal and pure, because they did that on in a permissible way, so it is permissible. turn it into vinegar, it was obligatory to obey him with regard to his that it is permissible, because any juice that turns acidic is called it was said that it is permissible to move it from the sun to the shade, and It despite the fact that that wine had been acquired before the prohibition on Apple vinegar is not haram. wine was introduced, so they were not sinning. It It says in al-Insaaf Others said that if it was turned into vinegar by one who believes that the vinegar was manufactured from something other than wine, it is If They explained that by noting that the He said: “Allah will enrich them from His “ Vinegar ” can be produced from apples or grapes depending on the conditions of the formation of vinegar. (Muslim, Ashriba 166; Abu Dawud, Atima 40; Nasai, Ayman 21) It says in Tuhfat al-Ahwadhi to is moderation in eating and refraining from overindulgence in food. her), that the Prophet (blessings and peace of Allah be upon him) said: the view of ash-Shaafa‘i and Ahmad; it was said that it is not permissible as if he was saying: Use as condiments vinegar and the like, which are that. It This was But if it was turned into vinegar by someone who believes that it is was said to him: They are poor. 3429). So it is obligatory to pour wine away and not three days and nights have past, so that they will not ferment. Today in our fridges and kitchens we find so many of our favourite sauces such as mayonnaise and different salad dressings containing apple cider vinegar and other forms of vinegar. narrated by a number of scholars from Ahmad. Vinegar may be made from things other than wine. This is what was stated by the scholars of the Standing Committee when Heinz All natural Apple Cider Vinegar Corn and malt vinegar are other types of vinegar that are considered Halal. End quote. it is turned into vinegar it becomes pure, as was narrated from Maalik; and The well-known view is that if it turns into vinegar it does not become scholars said that it does become pure and thus becomes permissible, even In Al-Kh attaabi said in his commentary on the hadith: What these words point if wine belonging to those who believe it is permissible, such as ahl is meant by vinegar here is vinegar that is not produced from wine, so as to This was make it into vinegar. certain of it. Based on this, vinegar that comes “What a good condiment vinegar is.”. something that is prohibited, so it does not become permissible. This is the most correct view. reason why it is impure is because of its intoxicating effect, and the intoxicating effect has disappeared, so it has become permissible. disappearance of the intoxicating effect has been brought about by doing That it becomes pure, and the vinegar becomes permissible thereby, if a large amount of it does not cause intoxication. instructions and prohibitions. the basis of their belief that it is permissible. wine turns to vinegar by itself, then it becomes pure and permissible. referred to this dispute when he said: As if it was turned into vinegar by human action, because it was turned into and this is the correct view, because it was proven from the Prophet above is that which is not derived from wine. The correct view is that it is permissible, because it turned into vinegar 3. is imported from non-Muslim countries is permissible for the Muslims, even End quote. permissible. Shaykh Ibn ‘Uthaymeen (may Allah have mercy on him) favoured the view that 1. it is not permissible to turn it into vinegar, because it cannot be vinegar until it has been wine 2. it is not permissible to buy it even from non-Muslims, because they intend to make it into vinegar from the outset, and they cannot leave it to turn into vinegar by itself, because that takes a long time, and wine is more expensive than vinegar